Living a life of shame and guilt can cause great harm not only to others, but to ourselves. Throughout my childhood I was blessed to have both parents in the home. They tried to teach me the importance of doing right. While this might be true, I struggled and sometimes I failed miserably.

On the other hand, life does not come with a training manual. Even our parents cannot always teach us what life has to offer. Some knowledge comes with the “bumps and knocks of life.”

To emphasize, when we know better, then we do better. Today, I know that I have to forgive myself before I can expect others to forgive me.

As a result, I can have empathy for others. I can understand that we all have a story. Likewise, when I fail again, because I will, I can immediately make amends where they are due.

