We live in a world of hustle and bustle with people jetting around and getting into our space. I do not know about you, but some days I get to that place where I feel totally out of control and in another world. For instance, I cannot control other people’s behavior, places, or things, yet I will allow them to occupy space in my head without collecting rent.

As an addiction, this is like being in a bad neighborhood with no way out. Before long I start to think of ways that I can manipulate people to fulfill my desires. For example, I start to have expectations of others and that is not a good thing for an addict. Especially since we have a tendency to punish ourselves when others do not fulfill our requirements. For example, we have high expectations of others, yet they have no clue of what we want because we never came right out and asked. Instead, we will mask our feelings and beat around the bush expecting others to know what our needs are.  When our needs are not meet, then we falsely believe we have a reason to act out in our addictions.

Well, there is a solution for this type of behavior. I meditate when I feel unbalanced. How do I know when I am unbalanced? I start to have resentments towards others. This is when I find a quiet place to sit and to be still. I have to be conscientious in my efforts. I have a purpose to connect with a spirit greater than myself, and for me that spirit is God. I will repeat positive affirmations such as “I am okay. I am exactly where I am suppose to be. I am loved.” I repeat these words over and over in my head. I focus on my breathing. Breathe in and exhale.

As a result, my mind gets quiet and I become centered again. Through discernment I realize I can only control myself. Eventually, what happens is the world does not necessarily change, but I change, at how I look at the world. This is an amazing concept, but one well worth practicing.

How do you get centered when unbalanced?

