Tags

We live in a world of hustle and bustle; running here and there and everywhere with little time to even enjoy the moment. In fact, just this week I was driving and because I was distracted with the delightful words on a billboard, I ran a red light. I immediately thought “wow, that car almost hit me.” Then I realized, I was at fault and my heart dropped. I became frightened and soon starting saying my blessings.

Besides, people constantly are telling me, “Lynda, you need to slow down. You cannot do everything and be everywhere for everybody.” I certainly believe what they say. Especially, since my days are jammed with school work, business relations, family, friends, social life, exercise, volunteer work, and the list goes on and on.

So, how can we remain dedicated to our commitments, be productive, maintain balance, and be of maximum service to God and to others, in spite of criticism from those around us? Well, my answer is spiritual formation; we can pray daily, meditate frequently, journal often, laugh a lot, and love always. This certainly brings about a sense of clarity, calmness, and acceptance. I am always doodling my thoughts on paper. Yes, I know most will consider this to be additional labor, and so true it is, but this is necessary toil for survival.

To emphasize, most of us who have experienced lost time combined with guilt for not fulfilling our duties due to drugs and alcohol, sense a need to recapture that vanished time. We will either be so ashamed of that trail blazing path that we created that we will continue that route of uselessness, or we can ask God for help. “…but he said to me, ‘my grace is sufficient for you, for power is made perfect in weakness.’ So, I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me. Therefore I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities for the sake of Christ; for whenever I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:9-10, NRSV)

Press on dear soldiers, press on! Who are you going to call on?

