I continue to have these fleeting moments where I sense my mom is near, and I have this overwhelming need to call her, and then I realize she died and is not here.

A provoking thought. Conscious contact with self brings about connections with others.

I appreciate today’s reading on the treasure of the past. I treasure so many things like ancestors, lost opportunities because of addictions, and the life I once lived that bought me to where I am today.  

When I first acquired recovery, I recall picking up trash and cleaning and creating a flower garden in front of Mr. Z’s In and Out store. I remember people driving by asking me if I had community service, but I didn’t. I was able to do service work in different ways. And looking in the rearview mirror, it’s a reminder that I didn’t drink or use drugs, so I continue to do those same types of things today.

My journey includes being a high school dropout, shooting galleries, broken relationships, a failed marriage, drug over-dosages, a relapse since starting recovery, lost jobs, gained jobs, degrees, titles, and so much more. The bottom line is they were all treasures of my past, and it wasn’t just a miracle that I am still here, but a determination to choose and live.

I treasure my life today, every inch of it all, including my hips, my hair, and those still buried treasures. The more I show-up for Lynda in recovery, the healing continues. Things that I don’t even remember surfaces like the freshness of morning dew. I welcome those times, no matter how painful they are, because I get to internalize what they mean for me.

Life is worth the here and now because that conscious contact with me and my higher power are always present. I get to know and understand myself on a deeper level, deciding what is best for me to be the best that I can be—and for that, I am thankful for the past and present treasures and living my higher power’s will for me.

Peace and love. Feel free to share and invite others. To unsubscribe, say so. The reading is attached.

Author, Lynda M.