Habits are hard to break because of repetition and determination and the will to go to any lengths to satisfy the urge to fulfill the practice.

Here is a fruitful thought. There are different types of habits worth practicing.

Coming into the rooms of recovery and learning that no one wanted anything from me was puzzling. Not only were people not asking me for anything, but they were willing to give, claiming it was love until I could love myself.

One of the main reasons I thought the people were crazy was their generosity to give freely. Who tells a stranger that they love them and to keep coming back until they can love themselves? I quickly learned that they meant what they were saying, and if they didn’t, I sure couldn’t tell.

Sure, some of them were standoffish, but over time, some of them lightened up, or they disappeared, and I never saw them again. The Seventh Tradition, the statement is that we are self-supporting through our contributions; that was another surprise.

After all, there is coffee to purchase, rental space, sugar, creamer, and Kleenex, so the funds have to come from somewhere. The beauty of it all is no one can tell anyone what to do. No dues to pay, no instructions to be on time, or you’re out. No one can tell anyone they aren’t welcome. As long as there is a desire not to drink, people are welcome.

What I have come to accept over the years is that like any other place with service positions that need filling, I have utilized my talents in the area that I can be most efficient, and that is chairing meetings and clean-up. Business meetings remind me too much of corporate America, so I reframe from attending. I also heard today on a  Zoom meeting confirmation of other ways to be of service is to call at least three people each day, participate in a meeting each day at the same time to get to know people. No matter how much time I have required, I can always help someone with steps one, two, and three. I can also assign myself to be a chip person to show up and send out chips to celebrants by taking their information and mailing them their birthday coins.

The safe news about sobriety is some days I won’t feel that I have anything to provide, but those are the days that I can share honestly about what I am feeling. The bottom line is repetition. I continue to show up and be of service one day at a time. Before I know it, I have created a new habit, but a healthy one, sobriety, that will feed and nourish my mind, body, and soul—recovery is not only beautiful but rewarding. I thank my higher power for my life.

Peace and love. Feel free to share and invite others. To unsubscribe, say so. The reading is attached.

Author, Lynda M.