The successor defines success, and the stories can vary from minute’ to whoopers.

Here is a fun thought. If there’s no fun and laughter, then there won’t be much success.

My journey of writing a response to the Daily Reflection is coming to an end, in fact, within 14 days. I have been writing for 351 days straight. It’s impressive, and I have genuinely enjoyed this excursion.  I realize my avoidance of sharing openly and honestly about my gifts of staying sober one day at a time.

The reason is that it seems as if I am boasting, so I hold back. The same way I do with clothing. I hold back to keep from gaining attention. Yet on page 132 of the Big Book states, “We are not a glum lot,” and I’m not. So since I have aired my dirty laundry for so long, and after speaking honestly with a sponsoree, she questioned why I reserve myself.

I contemplated her question, and for some reason, I don’t want to make anyone feel bad. It’s like me judging people or expecting that they will criticize me. That is ludicrous as I write this statement. Nonetheless, during my time in Clinical Pastoral Education (CPE), it was brutal and corporate America. Although some of the feedback I received was constructive, it still has left a strong impact that causes me to be afraid (there is that word again). The mental abuse started that of backlash that became criticism that I latched out with resentments galore, some that still haven’t dissipated, although I claim differently.

Nevertheless, I have accomplished memorable milestones since getting sober. In fact, within a year of sobriety, I started my company and no longer have to deal with anyone that I don’t want to work with, and that’s enormous. I think about International trips that I have adventured, sober, and relished the heck out of some places that speak foreign languages, like Hungary. Body language was my primary communication source in Hungarian culture, and it didn’t matter because I still had a magnificent time. 

My most enjoyable fun is camping in my tent on a river, burning wood, watching the stars and the moon at night. Sleeping out when the temperature the next morning was below freezing, so that is why it’s a must to hooch the tent, which makes everything toasty.

Sobriety has afforded me the luxury of living, and it doesn’t have any financial costs; that’s rich in the spirit of receiving and can cause anyone to have joy. Not only that, I can party despite that others might be drinking around me. I still can and have stayed sober because living life in sobriety is no ordinary success story.

Peace and love. Feel free to share and invite others. To unsubscribe, say so. The reading is attached.

Author, Lynda M.