Cicely Tyson, a woman of class and so much sass, let her sweetness soar on in peace, with the spirit of abundance.

Here is a pondering thought. When the body is exhausted, exhale, relax, and take it easy.

The reading is about freedom from my old way of living to a new life. The catch in that phrase is I am the same person, but taking what I know and intertwining those lessons with new ideas and choosing different solutions.  The old Lynda doesn’t leave, and neither does the fear.

From my perspective, the mind remembers specific patterns and how to operate in what I call on autopilot. What I mean is take, for instance, driving in a blackout. The mind still reaches for what pattern it remembers, although maybe a few bumps and knocks along the way, it nevertheless tries to find its way home.

The same thing happens when I have triggers. The mind returns to what it remembers. I can recall putting on certain clothes, maybe listening to an old song, even driving and coming to a stoplight at a particular intersection. Those things can make the brain recall memories of what previously was happening.

For this addict, I cannot be confused about the freedom of the promises regarding fear. I have a few twenty-four hours in recovery, past, and repast “halfway through making amends,” yet still, I get fearful. When I take time to settle the mind, ponder what is behind the fear, perhaps speak with others, and gain clarity, I might move past the anxiety to realize my options and cherry-pick new solutions.

The critical moment is between the fear and the decision of what I will do about the fear. Before recovery, I would react to the negative emotions that I would feel and try to drown out the di-stress with alcohol and drugs, or anything else that would make me forget by indulging in some temporary comfort (Wink. Wink. Fill in the blank).

It is a profound development to know that I can train the brain to do something miraculous that will yield new thoughts, memories, healthy decisions, and comfort. I have to relax, take it easy, and know that things will change. I have to slow down, breathe, not give in to the cravings of any sorts, and allow the negative emotions to dissipate because they will—now that’s freedom with bliss.

Peace and love. Feel free to share and invite others. To unsubscribe, say so. The reading is attached.

Author, Lynda M.