My heart hurts from all the inflicted hate around the world. Why is it that so many people can find the ability to harm others without taking into consideration the consequences?

In my opinion, trauma begets trauma. People that have been on the receiving end of harm have built a tolerance to inflict pain upon others. It’s so sad that our mental health system is broken and has been for some time. People have often experienced discrimination and stigma that makes the mental obsession to hurt others greater, and that the body can be experiencing depression and suicidal thoughts. As a result, hate becomes ingrained and spews onto others.

Between homelessness, mental health, low income from minimum wage jobs, or lack of employment, the isolation from being in a pandemic, understandably, people are hurting. I know for myself I have to stay connected with others. I have to find time and make time to get outside in the fresh air with some sunshine. I have to reach out and allow others to get to know me and let myself be vulnerable to speak my truth, despite my fears.

I hope that the world can change to be a better place. But since it resembles that I have come so accustomed to, I am the only one who can make a change to look at the world from a different perspective.

I take time to connect with a spirit outside myself, and I find that connection in nature. I walk for miles and miles, seeking that understanding that I am okay and not to self-destruct. I am a minute’ part of the universe, and I try to make this a better place for all to reside.

Love is the answer because only love can conquer hate.

Lynda M.