Although not as painful as once imagined, the Friday’s inventory is completed, and it’s a glorious relief to finish.                    

Here’s a pondering thought. Things that appear slovenly can have depth.

I feel tickled because I accomplished things this week that made me feel overwhelmed, but I kept meditating and putting one foot in front of the other and trusted in my higher power, which provided me with strength.

I admit I do not like to have my routine interfered with because I want my peace and comfort. I start the morning by making my bed, get on my knees and say a short prayer. I fix breakfast and sometimes eat with my sweetie, then out the door for my walk while listening to an anonymous narcotics meeting. That includes a five-minute meditation, a fifteen-minute speaker, and the remaining hour for shares. After returning, I bathe when I have time and prepare and attend a noon meeting at my homegroup. I usually have a couple of sponsorees daily and this paper to write, and the rest of the time is doing business to make a living. Why would I want to disrupt any of this is not beyond me because I am co-dependent with such things.

Yet, life happens, and I have learned to prepare myself to adjust to life and not think that life will adapt to me.

It’s okay to change my mind if I consider the timeframe because I do; that’s why I have to keep a handwritten calendar (I am a visual person) to stay on track. I wouldn’t be able to do any of these things in a day without the help of a higher power, a spiritual adviser, my sponsor, and close confidants that I trust.

I don’t know when it happened, but from the time I arrived in the program, I did not trust anyone, including myself. My higher power continues to develop and takes form in a loving way that continues to shape, guide, nod, and push me. Although I don’t want anything to interfere with my routine, sometimes it happens.  That’s when I have to work around my schedule like I did today to speak on the east coast and help transport some elderly for their COVID vaccines.

I feel rejuvenated, and there’s only one thing that I can contribute this to, and that is my higher power empowering me to do what is in front of me with integrity. Survival is possible because the adversity I have already overcome is my witness. So when I deflate my ego more and more each day, trust that whatever happens is the will of my higher power and that I am operating in grace—that’s a glorious understanding for this trustworthy lady.

Peace and love. Feel free to share and invite others. To unsubscribe, say so. The reading is attached.

Author, Lynda M.