Time waits for no one, yet passes like snail pace regarding COVID-19 and zips when it’s a belly birthday, and that is more reason to appreciate the present in each moment.

Here is a thought. Today will never happen again, so why not enjoy whatever is happening?

I get sentimental when I think about my past, so I know I must stay in the moment. I love the Big Book because being gullible takes time to reach reality. I say this because when I check out my notes in the margins of my book and the highlights throughout, I can tell how desperate I was to read familiar passages that I could identify with how I was feeling at the time that I read them.

I was re-reading Chapter 15 in the third edition, “A.A. Taught Him to Handle Sobriety.” The story is fresh how to deal with sobriety each day, with a perfect outline of the steps. I know that staying sober beats ever going back out and reminds me that it’s not easy to return. I even found a recent Marathon 24/7 meeting that I logged onto as I worked at my desk to prepare my taxes for the accountant, and was overwhelmed that I get all these nuggets of ways to stay sober if only I am willing to implement them into my life. By the way, the log information on Zoom is 292 371 2604.

As the reading claims, there is hope for recovery if I am willing to trudge the road(s) of happy destiny. At any time, I can pick up the spiritual tool kit, and to me, that is the literature, read, dissect any passage, and get relief. I become overwhelmed when I read the stories. I cannot change my past, I cannot control what the future will look like, but I can stay sober today and allow my higher power to guide and direct me. But I have to know that the steps will help to guide me. My higher power will not place me somewhere magically without my trudging. I have to do some work and others that share gently remind me of some suggestions of what they do.

It is such a relief to know that I don’t have to do everything today. Progress takes practice, repetition, and persistency. I am so grateful for my life, the people I meet along the way, and happy that I am no longer in a nonage state like before recovery—life is beautiful, and I mean that. By the way, join me on Sunday, March 7th at 7 pm CST to celebrate Sri in Boston for their 14 years of sobriety. They have never really had a real celebration, so won’t you please come? Log information for Zoom is 831 6648 1096.

Peace and love. Feel free to share and invite others. To unsubscribe, say so. The reading is attached.

Author, Lynda M.