Grateful today I became aware of my hypervigilance, and it has been necessary for survival.

I am grateful for the serenity to accept the people I cannot change, the courage to change the person I can, and the wisdom to know that person is me.

I am grateful that on this day, in 1964, The House passed the bill HR 7152 Civil Rights Act of 1964. The vote was 290 to 130 for everyone to receive equal protection under the law, regardless of race, religion, gender, or other identities, to participate in political decisions that affect their lives and freedom of speech and expression.

I am grateful that I get to show up for my life to participate in those things that my ancestors and others fought so tirelessly for me to have a voice to be heard.

I am grateful that today I have the consciousness to acknowledge my rights, respect the diligent work I and others have fought for, make a difference for me to give back to society, and know they also are essential and have rights.

I am grateful that I have a conscience today that I don’t want to destroy my mind and body from drugs and alcohol, but to be present and understand the importance of giving back.

I am grateful that today I desire to learn the history and share my knowledge and wisdom with others that might want to hear.

I am grateful for life, alive, and desire a loving power present to help steer me.

I am grateful to know the importance of dignity and integrity.

I am grateful to be a responsible inhabitant, share freely with others, and avoid the harm that prevents others from succeeding.

I am grateful for choices today and that I don’t have to be obsolete from the freedom to choose. My sobriety is the best gift I could have received, knowing that I don’t have to run the show. I want to be present and to appreciate the advantages of freedom—and for that, I am genuinely grateful.

Peace and love. Feel free to share and invite others. To unsubscribe, say so. The reading is attached.

Lynda M.