Fear can be a healthy emotion. Although knowing what I know today about thinking the action all the way through before I act, there was a time that something would nudge my consciousness to reconsider what I was about to do, yet I would respond by being in self-will run riot.

I think about how my mind can play tricks on me, such as believing that I am too old and set in my ways to change. Then, I contemplate the thought that there is a higher power and a lower power of the universe driving my thoughts, and the consequences to which one I choose to acknowledge can vary greatly.

I know that my creation is not to be a fall down drunkard, stealing and taking things that don’t belong to me to survive my willful demands of life. Instead, I gravitate towards a magnificent force where I strive to stay sober from drugs and alcohol to help others who struggle to see that life holds more significant meaning.

In a society that constantly pits people against one another, I have to withdraw from the demand to hate, which includes myself. Instead, I make a conscientious desire to meditate on a higher being that lives within me and know the lie to hurt myself and others is a sham.

An addict, any addict, can get sober, lose the desire to use and find a better way to live. No matter what my mind wants to tell me about those things that come from a place of lower influence, I ask the great spirit of the universe to help me, to comfort me, to relieve me of the bondage of self, to quiet my mind from the disease of addiction, and ease the pounding of my heart. Over and over again, I repeat.

Fear can cause unwanted stress, and that can kill. There is also a fear that continues to push me to do the following right action in front of me. Today I get a chance, and that is all I have is today. As been spoken, yesterday is a canceled check, tomorrow is a promissory note, and today is a gift, and I am so grateful for the knowledge to know that fear can be healthy.