I am grateful for the awareness that my solution is an inside responsibility, that I make time and take time for recovery.

My parents are deceased, and not too often did I ever hear them speak about racism. Yet, here I am, experiencing what it is to be in the middle of white supremacy and know that my parents had undoubtedly experienced something similar, on a grander scale, yet there was nothing mentioned from them.

My parents sheltered me all those many years, trying to save me from the throes of hatred, and here I am, enduring the best that I can. Each day I have to journey into a painful world, but I want to be joyous and free to live my life to my best ability.

I no longer have to continue to seek validation through others or my accomplishments but to know that I am okay where I am and as I am. I don’t have to run and hide or shrink myself making myself smaller. The universe’s spirit knows that I can accomplish great things by being me, if only I can accept that my solution is within.

I love life. I accept myself, all of me, small, big, and significant because I am who I am because of my parents.

Lynda M.