When I walked into the recovery rooms, no one could tell me anything because I knew better, and I had all my plans to show them.

Here is a marinating thought. Life is inevitable, and growth is intentional.

I love laughing at myself, especially when I realize how eccentric I can be. The thought that anyone can steer or direct me is a no brainer in my mind. Yet, I understand enough to know that I can consider suggestions offered or get dragged along the way into accepting when my way isn’t working. But first, I have to admit defeat or keep digging deeper into a hole of no return.

While working with others, I realize how far I have released some of my old ways of thinking and have replaced them with new ideas, thoughts, practices, and just looking at life with a new set of lenses. The reflection is refreshing and makes me crave others’ welcome, but I have to continue to be open to the what-ifs—meaning posing someone else’s ideas. After all, their ideas had to belong to some others before they gained the knowledge. The thought to recycle, share ideas with the hope to build up one another, instead of hate with intent to tear each other down, is encouraging at the least.

I am grateful to be teachable. I hope never to feel so assured that I cannot listen to others and ponder what might be a saving grace for my life’s betterment, and in return, it will improve society, at least no harm. I have a tough time believing that the roughness in me showed up with the intent of proving my way as being the almighty and the best thing since sliced bread. Instead, I can see that life goes on, and I am only a minute’ part of what can be. I can participate healthily or self-destruct all alone, and I choose the former.

I am aware and accept that I can replace, exchange, and borrow ideas from others that might have something that I deem possible. I can discard those things that don’t justify my belief that love is the answer, in all times and all things. Nothing but love for me and my sobriety comingled in a world that can be a sea of love. It’s all in how I see and not think—it’s sweet love without the tantalizing.

Peace and love. Feel free to share and invite others. To unsubscribe, say so. The reading is attached.

Author, Lynda M.