One thing for sure, when recovery calls for an intentional time to be humorous, I have to dig deep inside myself.

Today I realized that I found humor in laughing at myself when I write something funny to a post that I might see on social media. I am limited there because there is one prominent place I hang out, and that’s Twitter.

Here is an example. I read that someone claimed that Rudy Giuliani is under investigation for some time now. I responded with, but now he’s been stripped searched. I laughed so hard.

Another time is when I took a photo of my sweetie’s backside while standing on the scaffolding with his shirt off and a paintbrush high in the air stoking the eaves on the roofline. I posted the photo to IG that my man is the hardest working man on this side of Texas. I laughed twice as hard.

On a more severe note, in between these two belly laughs was my response to the judge’s decision not to release the video to the public on the murder of Andrew Brown Jr. One cannot feel distraught and justified at the same time. These two emotions comingling together are not possible.

The point of the matter is that for me to have humor is progress, not perfection. My intent is a daily practice to lighten up because when traumatic experiences have dominated my spirit for so long, it will take time to recover. I plan to allow myself some grace while being gentle with myself and know that life will not always be joyful.