Here is to a gracious good morning from a girl in Kansas City with an attitude of gratitude. I read such a profound message from Dr. Richard Rohr, “The Root of Violence.”  I understood that I was harming myself when using drugs and alcohol, which is inner violence towards myself. Yet, I didn’t believe that I was hurting anyone else. Yet, my actions did align with violence towards others because of my dis-ease, which I had no connection with myself or others, perhaps those that needed me in a way that I couldn’t provide.

I am aware of my emotions, although I have to separate them from reality because what I am feeling is not necessarily what is happening. In other words, it can be that fear of false evidence appearing real. Sometimes my pain from the trauma of the happenings in the world causes my dis-ease to flare with rebellion against myself and others, comparing my insides to others’ outsides.

My desire and intentional work are toward making a connection with the love of a power greater than myself; it’s constant and never-ending. When I cultivate this relationship with a passion that sees me as beloved, I find solace in what is. My acceptance does not mean that I like what is happening around me, but I can get to a place of acceptance of what is.

I pray as a novice in meditation, sitting, discerning, and believing that all is well in my soul. By utilizing this practice, I have become more advanced with my belief and intuitively know how to handle situations that used to baffle me. My higher power needs me to assist by getting and staying out of my way, allowing life to happen without manipulating and trying to force solutions that are not mine.

I am genuinely grateful for this moment of clarity and love for myself and others. I believe this practice will continue to yield comfort as long as I do the work to practice progress, not perfection. Love. Peace. Satisfaction. Repeat. I send my love and appreciation to my predecessors, ancestors, and the world.