Control is my worst enemy, and I create the scenarios by failing at controlling my addictions, people, places, things, my past, and my future.

I am involved in multiple twelve-step programs trying to understand my role and how I can make changes to have joy in my life by letting go of those things that I cannot control.

The answer for me has been to let go and allow a power greater than myself to take the reign of my life. The thought that I have to enable something intangible to handle my worries is so tricky. Yet, this is an oxymoron type of thing because I am empowered when I do so. I can then chose to do the following moral and ethical things.

I have come to accept that I don’t have the power to control anything but me. I gain the wisdom of those things that I cannot change by choosing to acknowledge them. I know this because I made such a mess by reacting to life. I don’t have to worry about what other people think of me. I have to be okay with who I am, an inside job, and intentional work to make changes. The answer is that I need help, and I can put action behind that control by letting go—acceptance is a beautiful awakening.