I am bonging my way thru life with the utmost appreciation for 19 years of abstinence from drugs and alcohol, one day at a time. It was grace and a desire to live. I am truly grateful.

Nineteen years ago, sitting on my porch swing, with my tin cup of alcohol and guzzling the last drop, I saw my reflection in the bottom. I intuitively knew that I could do better, and my journey started that day.

Defiance told me to keep running and that people sharing their experience, strength, and hope were all crazy, and that I could figure things out on my own. Today, I can say I am so grateful that I continue to return day after day, with my mind saying I didn’t want what they had, but my heart says to stay.

I am grateful for the power of persistence. I am thankful for having a desire, yet not knowing what steps to take, but when the mind goes one direction, the body will eventually follow.

Thank you, power of the universe, for insight and my determination to live, one day at a time. I will always give back this gift freely given to me.