It is amazing what five minutes of meditation will do for the mind, the body, and the spirit, with the awareness to relax the shoulders and the permission to lose all thoughts.   

All it takes is willingness, and rejuvenation can happen in a matter of minutes, especially once the eyes open afterward.  

Self-will is a powerful thing, especially when conditioned to take care of oneself since its power is for the sole purpose of survival. Even when attempting to let go and allow a higher ability to take the reins, it’s still complicated because it’s like traveling to a place unknown. When there is a return to what was, somehow, the directions are as if remembered.  

Today was a potent reminder that perhaps my desire to let go is like I was in self-pity. When I think that way, I automatically go into survival mode to save myself from myself. It’s silly yet real and complicated to figure out. I spoke about this very thing today in a meeting, and I had a long chat with the universe on how one can improve what they think is wrong if they cannot get past self-pity? What I mean is I can get too philosophical for my good.

Theoretically, truth-seeking, as well as ignoring the truth, can be complicated work. I believe both can be a reason for relapse because it is difficult to search for what once was, but is no longer, or thinking that something is to be undiscovered and not wanting to bother to discover. Like the reading claims, until I can honestly look at myself to search my part in any given scenario, more than likely, I will continue to live in self-will run riot, or the opposite for me is self-pity. Neither of those will solve my common problem of alcoholism.

How can I move forward to address those thirsty roots of years of suppression to my mind? I can continue at a gentle pace to work steps in the various programs that bring about the most cravings like ACA (Adult Child of Alcoholics) and pease the mind’s curiosity. Yet, at some point, I agree with the Big Book on page 417 of the third edition that claims acceptance is the answer to all my problems. I know at some point, and all have to be okay with my soul—relief comes with thou will not mine can help relax the shoulders, the body, and the mind.

Peace and love. Feel free to share and invite others. To unsubscribe, say so. The reading is attached.

Author, Lynda M.